News Result


The Temperzone Junior Black Sox Management Team have reviewed the JBSX wider training squad selections as a result of a change in age eligibility for the U19 WBSC World Cup in 2023.

Softball NZ
Published on
The change in eligibility allows players born in 2004 (U19’s) to now, be considered for national selection.

Extending the age eligibility of the playing group has meant the JBSX have had to make some tough calls on selections with a number of new players being added to the group, and some players previously selected have not been included in the new group.

The JBSX are still over a year out from the World Cup and wish to make it clear they will be keeping their options open with regard to final selection and wish to emphasise that players should continue to work hard on building their game.

A 33 man squad has been named for two camps over the July and October school holidays. Selected players have been grouped into three teams; teams recognised after three softball greats in Dale Eagar, Carl Mossman, and Terry Nunns. Eagar, Mossman and Nunns contributed significantly to the junior men’s programme in the 1980’s where they led New Zealand to world titles in 1985 and 1989. Eagar led the ‘85 and ‘89 campaigns as Head Coach, while Mossman (‘85) and Nunns (‘89) undertook the Assistant roles.

Temperzone Junior Black Sox Training Squad:

Shiloh Rice, Kristian Marsters (Auckland), Katene Huriwai (Counties Manukau), Josh Kennedy, Jaxon Baldwin (Hutt Valley), Kyan Mill-Cameron, Arron Gollan (Wellington), Hunter Simpson, Jayden Potts (Canterbury), Phoenix Wardell-Mao (Otago), Jarrod Rowe-Kenny (Southland)

Roy Tatupu, Nathan Ruhe (Auckland), JP Gerbes (North Harbour), Nopera Tangaroa (Hawkes Bay), Luca Mollison, Joseph Smith-Simpson, Ciaran Bolger (Wellington), Dane Gill (Marlborough), Matt Lowe (Nelson), Max Sargeant, Campbell Codyre (Canterbury)

Max Russell (Auckland), Tamihana Tonga (Franklin), Cohen Bailey (Counties Manukau), Lennox Easthope, Zahr Shaw-Wallace, George McCarroll, Jayden Hita (Hutt Valley), Jacob Neale, Fletcher Due, Connor Stanley (Canterbury), Josh Forrester (Otago)