Return to Home Page

Our History
A formal system for scoring softball games in NZ was established in 1968, and the first scorers’ manual was written in 1974. A score sheet and standard set of scoring symbols was developed. Furthermore, a qualification system was established to ensure consistent scoring standards throughout the country. Former SNZ Chief Scorer introduced computer statistics.The first tournament to use hand held electronic scoring was the Men's World Champs qualifier in 2008 at North Harbour.

Since then we have come a long way. Official scorers are appointed to all games at every national tournament and most club tournaments. Many club teams have regular team scorers.

The NZ scorers qualification system involves a theory exam followed by a qualifying practical and a badge exam. The practical exams are sat at a National Tournament.

We have about a hundred active Scorers’ Badge holders, and many other scorers going through the training scheme or just scoring for their teams, but we are always looking for more. If you would like to become involved, contact any of the people listed on these pages.
National Team Appointments
You can view past national team scorers/statisticians here. We encourage you to contact our website coordinator Viti Flanagan to fill in the gaps.

Honours List
We celebrate those who have been NZ Chief Scorers and Statisticians by listing them here. Also those that have received significant awards related to scoring. As information is discovered, this list will be updated. We are also creating a list of past panel members.
SNZ Chief Scorer SNZ Statistician
Lil Natana (Jan 2015 - ) Lynnette Leathart (2021 - )
Sandy Wallace ( - Dec 2014) Elaine Karsten♰ (2013 - 2021)
  Ronnie Gurney (2008 - 2013)
  Ruth Dare (1994 - 2007)
SNZ Scorer of the Year Other Significant Achievements by Scorers
2021 - Alison Kensington (Manawatu) 2021 - Lil Natana, SNZ Distinguished Service Award
2020 - Lynnette Leathart (Auckland) 2020 - Gwen Fletcher, SNZ Administrator of the Year
2019 - Alison Kensington (Manawatu) 2019 - Debbie Townley, SNZ Personality of the Year
2018 - Carolyn McQueen (North Harbour) 2018 - Ronnie Gurney, SNZ Distinguished Service Award
2017 - Lil Natana (Rotorua) 2011 - Russell Moffat♰, WBSC Hall of Fame Meritorious Service Award
2016 - Elaine Karsten (Southland) 2006 - Russell Moffat♰, SNZ Hall of Fame
2015 - Ian Ditford (Marlborough) 2005 - Ruth Dare, Softballer Of The Year
2014 - Christine Nukunuku (Auckland) Elva Dyason♰, SNZ Distinguished Service Award
2013 - Marie Byrne (Canterbury) Vicky Griffiths, SNZ Distinguished Service Award
2012 - Sandy Wallace (Otago) Raewyn Humphries, SNZ Distinguished Service Award
2011 - Lynnette Leathart (Auckland) Elaine Karsten, SNZ Distinguished Service Award
2010 - Ronnie Gurney (North Harbour)  
2003 - Ruth Dare